Background

Adolescence is a period of transition with significant physical, psychological and social development. In addition, adolescents today are facing academic pressure and different challenges brought about by changes in the society. Inability to cope with these changes would have a direct impact on their psychosocial health and their ability in establishing interpersonal relationships. This may also increase the risk of taking part in health-compromising behaviours like smoking, drinking, drug abuse, casual sex, deliberate self-harm, suicide, etc.

To empower our adolescents to face the challenges of growing up, the Student Health Service of the Department of Health launched the Adolescent Health Programme (AHP) in 2001. The programme is to provide quality health promotion services for our adolescents using a multi-disciplinary team approach. It is an outreaching service for secondary schools implemented by our professional staff including doctors, nurses, dietitians, social workers and clinical psychologists.

Service Development

Since the launching of the AHP, the programme has been receiving good support and response. Through feedback from schools and evaluation studies, it is noted that the programme is well received by students and teachers. Evaluation results also show that students who participated in the programme performed better than those who did not in a number of aspects including health knowledge, attitudes, psychosocial health status and behaviours. To meet the changing needs of adolescent, we will continue to revise and update the programme regularly. In the school year 2015-2016, there were about 320 schools enrolled in the programme.

Programme Objectives

Programmes for students focus on promoting their psychosocial health like self-understanding and acceptance, emotion and stress management as well as harmonious interpersonal and problem-solving skills.

Programmes for parents and teachers aim at enhancing their knowledge on adolescents' psychosocial health and equipping them with the appropriate skills to assist adolescents throughout their development.

Basic Life Skills Training

  • Designed for secondary one to three students

  • A three-years training programme with a wide coverage of life skills include :
    - Emotion management
    - Establishing harmonious interpersonal relationship
    - Communication skills
    - Stress management
    - Self acceptance
    - Analytical thinking and problem solving skill
    - Adversity management
    - Time and money management
    - Goal-setting
    - Healthy living

Topical Programmes

  • Designed for secondary school students, teachers and parents

  • A wide range of topics are covered for secondary one to six students in order to meet their needs in different stages of their development. Topics include :
    - Sex education
    - Diet and nutrition
    - Anxiety and adversity management
    - Establishing harmonious interpersonal relationship
    - Correct attitude and skills in learning
    - Prevention on smoking, drinking and drug abuse
    - Goal-setting
    - Prevention of bullying
    - Healthy use of Internet and electronic screen products

  • Programmes for teachers and parents include topics on :
    - Stress and emotion management
    - Understanding adolescents
    - Money management among their children
    - Healthy use of Internet among their children
    - Handling of adolescent dating and love affairs
    - Empower their children to face adversity
    - Conflict management with the children
    - Suicide prevention
    - Prevention of drug abuse
    - Skills to facilitate children to adapt to secondary school life

 
     
 
Back Back to Top
 
 
 
Last Updated Date : 5 January 2017

背景

青少年正经历成长中的身心变化,加上社会环境转变,使他们面对着很多的挑战。若在适应及处理上出现困难,便会直接影响其心理健康及人际关系的发展,亦会促使他们养成不良的生活模式及参与危害健康的行为,包括吸烟、饮酒、吸毒、性滥交、自毁、自杀等。

为使青少年在成长中获得正面的引导及全面的培育,卫生署学生健康服务于2001年开创了青少年健康服务计划,透过医生、护士、营养师、社工及临床心理学家等专业人士,以外展形式在学校推行促进身心社交健康的活动,培育青少年正确的态度和技巧去面对成长中的挑战,迈向健康快乐的人生。

服务发展

青少年健康服务计划自推出以来,一直获得良好的反应和支持。学校的回馈及成效评估研究指出,这计划深受老师及学生欢迎。成效评估显示参与计划的学生较不参与者在多方面,包括健康知识、态度、心理社交状况及行为,均有较佳的表现。为配合青少年不断转变的需要,我们会继续定期修改及适时更新计划内容。在2015至2016学年,参加本计划的中学约有320间。

内容主旨

在学生方面,课程目标包括提高青少年对自我的认识和接纳、学习处理自己的情绪和压力、提升他们与别人和谐相处和解决问题的能力等。

在老师和家长方面,课程目标是加强他们对青少年身心社交健康的认识,使他们能配合整个计划,以正确的态度和技巧,一起培育这一代的青少年。

基本生活技巧训练

  • 对象为中一至中三的学生。

  • 训练课程  (只提供繁体版)分三年推行,内容包括情绪管理、良好人际关系的建立、沟通技巧、压力处理、自我认识和接纳、分析及解决问题技巧、处理逆境、时间和金钱管理、订立目标及建立健康生活模式等。

专题探讨

  • 对象为中学生老师家长

  • 适合学生的专题内容广泛,切合青少年成长中的不同需要,系列课题  (只提供繁体版)包括:「性教育工作坊」系列、「健康生活」系列、「情绪管理」系列、「情『维』何物」系列及其他。

  • 适合老师的专题  (只提供繁体版)家长的专题  (只提供繁体版)包括:认识个人情绪及压力的处理、认识青少年的心理及行为,与家长探讨青少年的理财问题、使用电脑互联网、恋爱和约会的问题、认识建立青少年子女抗逆力的技巧和处理与子女冲突的方法等。

 
     
 
返回上一页 返回页首
 
 
 
最后更新日期 : 二零一七年一月五日